RSS

Too old to Rock ‘n’ Roll…not!

10 Apr

My Camp with Inge and the Tanami

Rock ‘n’ Roll 2008 has come and gone and I’ve learnt a lot from my first one. There’s a fair bit to report so I’ll spread it over a few posts. Since it was my very first and I hardly knew anybody, it was pretty solitary for a while. Eventually I hooked up with Ben Tam and Ted Carpenter which was a relief.

When I booked my ‘accommodation’ all I could get was a powered site with en-suite and when I got there I found I had a slab of concrete with a bathroom attached. It was also dark so I considered sleeping in the bathroom until morning then pitching my tent in the camping area. I ended up putting the tent up right then and got a great spot in the middle of everything but away from my bathroom which came in very handy over the weekend.

My Blackwolf Tanami was a godsend. A brilliant little tent designed for 3 but perfect for 1. My Trangia also proved a great investment and the gas converter made it the perfect micro-kitchen. Other members were a lot more experienced and had their campsites well sorted but I was pretty pleased with a comfortable set-up that easily fits into a Volvo 850 sedan. Inge the Volvo performed flawlessly on the trip to Bateman’s Bay, by the way. I love that car. 

 

RnR campsite

Paddling was great and in other posts I’ll tell you what I learnt. Suffice to say, Rock ‘n’ Roll is a must-do event for the serious paddler- particularly for the intermediate. I think beginners ought do some club training and have some long paddles under their belt before going. Only three trade tents were there and I think the event would be far more awesome if the commercial interests of the kayaking world got behind the event more.

 

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 10, 2008 in Seakayaking News and Events

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
