RSS

Oakley Sunglasses

11 Jun

Oakley Gascan

My poor old Wiley-X SG1’s are now getting a bit unserviceable. You will recall the problems I had with them and they have never been resolved. Buying prescription sunglasses is a pain at the best of times but getting prescription sunnies for sea-kayaking and outdoor use is even worse. It’s not like I don’t do the research. I know there’s good gear for aquatic sports but they look stupid in a non-sport setting. The Wileys are right on the cusp of form v. function. They are also bloody uncomfortable when not in goggle mode and when in goggle mode they fog all the time. I cut the seals off and drilled extra holes in them but they are useless. The trip to the Toll-gates with no eyesight was a grind and I didn’t get the full visual experience until I was at the islands and with the Wileys off. That meant I could see as far as the prow of the boat. Another thing that shits me about the SG1s is the way the arms make your ears stick out like a wing-nut. Very uncool.

So, I thought ‘bollocks’! I’m sick of looking and so ducked into OPSM and picked some Oakleys with a polarized script and coughed up the cash. My health fund took care of half of it and now I am even more attractive than normal with some very fashionable eyewear. I asked the girl at OPSM if they’d be good at sea and she said ‘yeah’. OPSM is full of very attractive girls and so I totally believed her. If she said they would restore my eyesight completely I would have believed that too. 

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2008 in Paddle Gear

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Oakley Sunglasses

  1. stacy

    June 12, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Those are pretty cool.

     
  2. Jennifer

    June 23, 2008 at 12:48 am

    hello,
    randomly came on to you blog through a search for paddling glasses.
    I wonder if I could ask your advice. Right now I am using prescription glasses but when i paddle they keep slipping off my face (sweat, water, sunblock, etc)! I tried goggles but like you, they keep fogging up. What glasses do you recommend? I am looking to spend under 150 for the frames (since i will have to be replacing the lenses) Some of the problems i have encountered as well are sport glasses which are wrap-arounds but cannot be fitted for prescription lenses bc of the focal points in the lenses.

     
  3. rjimlad

    July 17, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Hi Jennifer, I went to Wiley-X originally because you can snap the arms off and fit an elastic google band that’s just great. The problem is as soon as you get wet and sweaty they fog badly. They also look sort of dorky if you’re not in a kayak or fighting in Iraq. My Oakleys fit better than the Wileys, look better but don’t have removable straps or even fitting points on the arms for a strap. More drilling required. I spend a fortune on sunnies because my health fund pays most of it but the choices are limited I’ve found. Seaspecs are well under $150 and you might get prescriptions in there. Alternatives are Sea Dogs which are cheap and designed for the sea.

     

Leave a Reply

 
