RSS

Wayne Langmaid – Vale

02 Jul

Wayne Langmaid - vale


I was saddened to learn this week of the passing of Wayne Langmaid. I only met Wayne once and briefly but I always had planned to get some instruction from him as his paddle resume is impressive and he is held in high regard as an instructor. His business, RoguePlanet, was on the Central Coast of NSW and only a short distance from me. We paddled the same waters and I have paddled with people who were taught by him. To lose someone of such standing in the sport is very sad indeed and I feel the same way as I did when Andrew McAuley died. I would like to extend my sympathy to Wayne’s family.

I don’t know how long the Rogue Planet website is going to stay up so I ripped the picture above from there as well as waynes-resume just in case. 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2008 in Seakaying Site News

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Wayne Langmaid – Vale

  1. Emmy Langmaid

    August 5, 2008 at 1:04 am

    My name is Emmy Langmaid.
    Wayne Langmaid is my father.
    He was an amazing man, a wonderful father and an incredible talented kayaker.
    He touched so many peoples lives and I can’t tell you how much it means that you took the time to honour his name and his memory on your website after only meeting him once in person.
    He will be watching and this I’m sure will put a smile on his face, as it has mine.

    Thank you.
    I wish you the best in all you do.

    🙂

     
  2. Nigel Malone

    September 13, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Dear Rjimlad and Emmy,
    I am devastated by this news of Wayne’s death. Emmy you may not remember me but My name is Nigel Malone and your father trained me as a sea kayak guide and I assisted him with many of his training courses. Wayne remains one of my greatest mentors. I am at a total loss. I sincerely hope your family is faring well. No doubt he will be looking down on us all, with that cheeky glint in his eye. He was without a doubt a true legend and a truly amazing person.

     
    • Stan

      May 21, 2009 at 10:18 pm

      Dear all, I feel the same way as Nigel. I did all my training with Wayne, and loved his dialogue and humour, not to mention his passion for kayaking. As a father of girls too, my heart goes out to his family.

       
  3. Tony Gates

    September 21, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I am very shocked to hear this terrible news. I lived on the Central Coast near Wayne and his family about 8 years ago. I was living in paddling paradise and Wayne helped me with equipment, advice, training and friendship. His passion for paddling and life in general was inspiring. It’s no coincidence that he was one of the first people I thought of looking for on the web as I now return to the water after a long break.

    RIP mate.

    Tony Gates
    Brisbane, Australia

     
  4. Bruce Paulsen

    November 26, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    By chance, I have only just found out about the death of my friend Wayne Langmaid. Wayne started me off in the field of paddling and has helped me with tuition, boats, equipment and mateship.Paddling has become a passion in my life and I owe a lot of that to Wayne.

    I am sure I share my feelings of disbelief and devastation with those who knew Wayne, and I extend my sympathy and support to his family and friends.

     
  5. Cory Langmaid

    December 26, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    I miss my brother Wayne. I did not get to spend as much time as I would have liked to with him in Oz and me in Canada, but all of us here know where Wayne’s heart was and is. My memories of Wayne are long and vast as he gave me the desire to see as much of the earths beauty as I can and also enjoy the beauty I have in front of me at home. Wayne was an incredible man, and further most an incredible father. Just sit and talk with any one of his daughters, and you’ll see and feel a part of Wayne that is an attestment to his devotion for his little girls. I miss my brother, but only need to look at them, and there he is! Amazing to see how many people he touched. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
