RSS

Paddle-dharma and karma

08 Jan

Or “paddle-dhamma” in Pali. Simon McGuire has entered the blogosphere with his brand new blog. This is putting pressure on your ole’ mate and narrator. I’ve already been given a punch in the guts by Mark Sundin on the NSW club forum. He hinted that I was a fat, useless kayaking hack with nothing left to say and and a blog not worth even bookmarking. Or was that what my wife said? I can’t remember now but Mark’s public kick in the bollocks stirred up the dying embers of enthusiasm into a volcanic explosion of passion and edge-of-your-seat bravado. LOL, oh some times I crack myself up. The only volcanic thing I’ve got going at the moment is in my intestines as I struggle to return to the vegetarianism I enjoyed for half my life before going onto a stupid experiment to see if meat would cure my lethargy. It was like hoping that just by indulging in a favourite passtime (eating) would somehow invigorate my other passion of kayaking. But the answer sure wasn’t there. All it did was bung me up for the first time in twenty years and make me ill. Karma.

The real problem is getting fired yet again and going back into retail. I excel at retailing and I now have a coaching business where I coach major retailers in getting their acts together. However, retailing has a tendency to destroy your personal life and sap any enthusiasm away. You also shout at your kids a lot more. But I’ve been doing this long enough to know that if you don’t take the initiative and get control of your life you lose it so I’ve been driving around with my boat on the roof of Inge waiting for an opportunity after work to have a late paddle, even a short one. I’ve been mountain biking with my boy, Conor, several times a week and this is great. Kayaking and MTB riding go hand in hand. My match fitness is improving and it helps with stress.

Enter Simon. After shouting into the Lake Macquarie wilderness for years looking for other paddlers there seems to be finally an answer and my hopes of a clan forming might become real. With a bit of luck there could be six or seven of us and I know that a system will start growing of its own accord (almost) once a certain critical mass is reached. These are good signs. So now I’ve got a link to Paddle-dharma in the side bar go follow it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2009 in Kayaking Life

 

4 responses to “Paddle-dharma and karma

  1. squid71

    January 8, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Everyone needs a good kick up the backside every now and then. Some just need it more regularly than others :). Thanks for the link. It looks like Thursday’s may be our regular mid week paddle day. Does that suit or do you need another kick up the bum?

     
    • rjimlad

      January 9, 2009 at 7:50 am

      I need frequent kicks. Thursday is mostly OK unless I’m caught up at work. If it’s late afternoon I’ll be fine most times.

       
  2. Mark Sundin

    January 12, 2009 at 2:00 am

    Rjimlad is back – maybe with a bit of not-really kayak related self induglet rambling but it’s a start…..
    Get the guys in gear & get out there for a paddle mate!

     
  3. rjimlad

    January 12, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Ok, Ok, you say self indulgent rambling like it’s a bad thing. I’m actually paddling but trying to get into shape for RnR. Pretty boring stuff but I’ll be the star of the show. A distant star maybe. More like an asteroid or an unidentified near Earth object. We’ll have the Lake Macquarie Klan there I hope, showing our wares.

     

Leave a Reply

 
