RSS

Ray’s Outdoors – great service

03 Mar

Today I finalized an issue with some hiking boots you may recall from a previous post. My Merrells tore along the side of the toe box after only one trip away. I bought these from Ray’s Outdoors at Kotara which is in the same short street as Domayne, where I work. I initially emailed Merrell who posted strait back saying that they would be happy to either exchange or refund but I should go back to the retailer first. This I did and I was surprised to find the same prompt level of customer service.

Why surprised? I shouldn’t be because my rights as a buyer protect me but as a retailer myself and dealing with dozens of vendors all with different return processes, I had a sense of trepidation. Ray’s quickly dispelled this and I was given a store credit after only a few days once the shoes had been assessed as being defective and not damaged by me. I was cheering.

Keen Targhee

Now, Ray’s only have access to a limited range of the Merrell line and I was resolved to not buy the Moabs again as they are too soft. Elizabeth, who was handling my ‘case’ rang me to tell me they had new Merrells in and when I would like to come and claim my credit. Today I went to check them out but didn’t find boots with a good enough fit. I chose, however, a pair of Keen Targhees which are unbelievably comfortable but double the price. Elizabeth signed me up to the VIP club and I got a discount. So, due to good customer service and friendly staff, Ray’s got more money out of me, a VIP member they can market to and a positive blog post from me which will no doubt be read be a multitude of eager shoppers. Well done Ray’s Outdoors Kotara. Good retailing. I hope all their franchises are the same.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2010 in Adventure, Paddle Gear

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Ray’s Outdoors – great service

  1. gnarlydog

    March 4, 2010 at 9:53 am

    and that’s how Customer Service is done!
    This level of service is rather common in USA (where I worked as bike master technician at one of the REI stores) but is only emerging in Australia.
    Ray’s Outdoors knew that it was not your fault that the shoes failed and instead of jerking you around with “we have to send them back to the distributor for assessment” they issued a store credit immediately. I am sure that if you had to wait for the “assessment” you probably would have felt that your credibility was questioned. A “smart” retailer will simply apologies for the inconvenience and immediately take care of the customer. Anything else is counterproductive for their business.

     
  2. Owenw

    March 8, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    My experience with Rays Outdoors over the past few years has always been good. Although I’ve not had to make any returns, I’ve always been treated as a valuable customer, no matter if it was just an inquiry or a significant purchase. Highly recommended.

     

Leave a Reply

 
